ASUS vivobook X571 Shorts?

revex666

Goodday all of you,

I have an asus vivobook with some problems (i bought it broken), I'm new in the world of repairing motherboards, etc. i did some MOSFET and cap replacements and haven all the equipment, only not yet all the knowledge in faultfinding.

board: DAXKTDMB8C0 rev: C
The problem:
At first the laptop was not turning on at all and no lights.
I opened the laptop and checked if the adapter was working (it did). I found an exploded/missing capacitor and replaced it. The lights of the laptop turned on, but nothing was happening.
I replaced the battery (i red somewhere that there is a chance when the battery is too low it will not charge and the laptop will not start). And to my surprise, the laptop booted up just fine. I was quite pleased since it looked like an easy fix. However, after 20min the laptop died and would not power up again. I took it apart again and started measuring again. No power on the charger (but the light of the charging was on before).
So i started to just check some random caps and mosfets, since i can not find a schematic for this board. I did found a boardviewer file of an almost identical board to just help a bit.
What I found out:
- ADP-Detect pi is shorted to ground 0,3 ohm, is this logical or not? (i removed the adapter port to check if there was something wrong there but shorts where still present);
- VSS - Sense (PWM chip 968-ISL95880HRTZ) 3,5 ohms to ground
- VSSSA_Sense_R (PWM chip 968-ISL95880HRTZ) 2,6 ohms to ground
- capacitors on +VCC_Core line 2 ohm to ground ( i believe this is normal for the capacitors?)

Because I don't have a schematic I'm a bit stuck. What is my next step? is it already time to inject voltage somewhere (I really want to test my new thermal camera :) ).

pcrepair

Administrator
Staff member
Diagnosing a laptop motherboard without a proper schematic can be challenging, but here's a general approach you can consider based on the information you've provided: