help with dell laptop

luisardo

hello everyone! I have a dell g3 3579 that has 2 problems, when I connect it does not turn on immediately, only turns on the keyboard light and the fans spin for a few seconds but then turns off (the screen does not turn on), I can repeat it several times and does not change the result, for the laptop to turn on, I unplug the charger, press the power button to remove the power from the charger and plug it in and turn it back on, that makes the laptop turn on (not always but it does turn on) once the laptop turns on it works normally, wifi, keyboard, processor etc.. . even I can do a stress test for 30 minutes without problems, the problem is when I turn off the pc and I want to turn it back on, I have the same problem, so put the laptop in sleep to not turn it off, I have basic knowledge in measuring with multimeter, someone knows that I can measure to know that could be the problem in the motherboard? I have already checked the basic things like ram, cmos, battery, ssd, etc. sorry for writing so much and thank you for your attention!

pcrepair

Administrator
Staff member
It sounds like you're dealing with a power-related issue, possibly involving the power circuitry on the motherboard. Here are a few steps you can take to diagnose the problem using your multimeter:

Check the Power Adapter and Port:

Ensure the power adapter is providing the correct voltage. You can measure the voltage at the adapter's output.
Inspect the power port for any physical damage or loose connections.
Test the Battery:

Measure the voltage of the battery to ensure it is within the normal range.
Check if the battery is charging properly when connected to the adapter.
Inspect the Power Button:

Use the multimeter to check if the power button is functioning correctly. It should show continuity when pressed.
Check for Shorts: